Sauerkraut

This is my recently acquired sauerkraut pot, kindly part-subsidised by my sister- and brother-in-law, who thought they were getting me a vinegar pot for my birthday. I’m sure that will come. In the meantime, I have this giant stoneware pot suitable for sauerkraut, lacto-fermented vegetables of all types, or something like apricots in brandy (if I liked alcohol, and if I could find fresh apricots in the UK).

Sauerkraut potOur organic vegbox contains an awful lot of cabbage at the moment, and I’m not that good at finding exciting things to do with cruciferous vegetables (boiled cabbage with a pat of butter? Cabbage in a stir-fry?) so I thought I’d give sauerkraut a whirl.

The detailed instructions that came with the pot are in German, which is fine, as German is one of my languages. Nevertheless, I was a little unnerved at the idea of having a water channel around the lid, presumably to prevent any air entering the pot.

I manage to fill it nearly half-full, left it bubbling away for a fortnight or so, and yesterday decanted some of the fermented cabbage into a Kilner jar to put in the fridge. The rest stayed in the pot and was moved to the garage, where I expect fermentation to be arrested immediately, given current temperatures (just to be clear, snowfall like this is not normal on 9th November in these parts, even though we live in the cold North of England).

Snowy tree

Voila! To give you an idea of scale, and thus how much cabbage I will need to chomp my way through in the weeks to come, here is another picture. I’m looking forward to experimenting with other vegetables, as I don’t think I’ve ever tasted lacto-fermented beans or carrots, for example.

Sauerkraut

Leave a Reply

